Archive | kerry RSS feed for this section

All 5 Kerry seats declared

1 Mar

All five seats have now been filled in the Kerry constituency following Friday’s general election. The five TDs, who’ll be taking their place in the 32nd Dail, were declared elected after a count spanning two days at the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre. Returning Officer Padraig Burke made the official announcement shortly after 8pm Saturday night.

The final three seats were filled after the 11th count, with outgoing Fine Gael TD Brendan Griffin elected following the elimination of Labour’s Arthur Spring and the distribution of his votes. Fianna Fail’s John Brassil and Sinn Fein’s Martin Ferris were then elected, without having reached the quota. Earlier in the day Independent Danny Healy-Rae took the second seat, with his brother Michael elected in the first count with in excess of 20 thousand first preferences, the highest vote in the country in this election.

Speaking after his elimination outgoing Labour TD Arthur Spring said that he has no regrets. He said that it had been an honour to represent the people of Kerry and West Limerick. However FG Candidate and former Minister Jimmy Deenihan admitted he was disappointed at the loss of his seat. Returning Officer Padraig Burke has deemed the following candidates elected in Kerry following the 11th and final count:

Fianna Fail

Candidate Party Votes
Michael Healy-Rae Independent 20,378
Danny Healy-Rae Independent 13,826
Brendan Griffin Fine Gael 14,050
Martin Ferris Sinn Fein 12,964
John Brassil 12,792

Burst Water Main in Barleymont

10 Mar

Update – Repairs to a burst water main may cause supply disruptions to Aghadoe, Barleymount, Aglish, Rockfield, Laharn and surrounding areas in Co. Kerry.

Burst Water Main Map

Crews are working to restore supply to the affected areas as soon as possible. Click here for updates.

Kerry Team at O’Briens Sandwich Cafe

19 Jul

The Kerry Team were Killarney’s Outlet Centre eating the “Lunch of Champions” at O’Briens Sandwich Cafe Saturday ahead of their up-coming GAA All-Ireland Quarter Final.

Also making an appearance with the Kerry Team was their first piece of silverware; The Munster Championship Cup which they won after beating Cork in the Munster Final earlier in July.

Munster Cup in O'Briens


Ross Castle Flooding – Car Park

3 Mar

Rsos Castle Flooding - Car Park

The car park at Ross Castle is completely flooded


Flooding at Ross Castle

3 Mar

Flooding at Ross Castle

Flooding at Ross Castle, Killarney

Kerry celebrates successful Tidy Towns capaign

10 Sep

Kerry towns and villages are marking another successful year in the Tidy Towns competition across a range of different categories. Congratulations to Killarney for achieving the highest score in the county and the second highest overall mark in the country!

Category A is for villages with a population under 200. There are 13 villages in Kerry in this category. The winner of Category A in the county was Portmagee followed by Currow, Knocknagoshel, Glenbeigh and Baile na nGall. Category B is for villages with a population from 201 to 1,000. 16 Kerry villages are in this group, top of the county is Sneem followed by Knightstown, Tarbert, Beaufort and Moyvane.

Category C covers small towns with population up to 2,500. In Kerry, Ballybunion tops this group then it’s Castleisland, Dingle, Killorglin, Caherciveen and Milltown. In Categories D, F and G there were four gold medal winners Kenmare, Listowel, Killarney and Tralee.

The full results of the Tidy Towns Competition for 2013

Continue reading

Drive through video of Kerry towns

28 Aug

The following YouTube videos have been created by Joesph O’Loughlin and the complete set of drive through videos of Irish towns and cities can be found here.