Kerry becomes a single five seat constituency

22 Jun

The Government is expected to fully accept recommendations which will see Kerry’s two constituencies become one. The report from the Constituency Commission will see Kerry’s D?il representation reduced from six TDs to five. The Constituency Commission recommends reducing the overall number of TDs from 166 to 158.

It also advises reducing the number of constituencies from 43 to 40, 11 of which will be 5 seat, 16 will be 4 seat and 13 will be 3 seat. Parts of West Limerick which were in the Kerry North West Limerick constituency will now become part of the Limerick County constituency.  Only eight constituencies will remain unchanged.

There’s been a mixed reaction to the report; Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore says he expects the Government to accept its recommendations.
However Dublin South Fine Gael TD Olivia Mitchell has described the changes to constituency boundaries as a “butchering”. Kerry South TD Michael Healy Rae says he has some reservations about the changes. But he says it’s now a reality, so politicians must learn to deal with it and represent their constituents to the best of their abilities.

One Response to “Kerry becomes a single five seat constituency”

  1. Deli Lanoux, Ed.D. June 25, 2012 at 15:46 #

    I guess it all boils down to making the most of the outcome and working for the good of all.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: