I Won’t Go Home ’Til Morning

4 Apr

Thurs 21 April. McCarthy’s Bar, Goat Street, Dingle, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Tel 066 915 1205 Tickets €10 – From 9:00pm

Renowned for her warm, engaging stage presence, Sarah McQuaid is a versatile and beguiling performer. Her unique voice delivers a powerful emotional punch that’s matched by her distinctive, eloquent guitar style. In addition to her own elegantly crafted originals, she interprets traditional Irish and Appalachian folk songs, Elizabethan ballads, 1930s jazz numbers, surprise covers and lively guitar instrumentals with panache and poignance.

About Sarah’s CD
“I Wont Go Home Til Morning is dedicated to the memory of my mother, Jane Addams Allen Guthrie (1935-2004) My mother never performed professionally, but she had a lovely natural style of singing and playing guitar. She grew up in Chicago, and as a teenager she spent her summers volunteering at Quaker work camps run by the American Friends Service Committee in Kentucky and other parts of Appalachia. I believe that’s where she first became acquainted with the music of Jean Ritchie,
Peggy Seeger and other folk singers and song collectors.

My mother died in January of 2004, and it’s only since then that I’ve developed the urge to revisit the songs she and I used to sing together when I was a child. When I discovered traditional Irish music at the age of eighteen, it had such a powerful impact on me that for many years I had no interest in singing or playing anything else.
My first album, When Two Lovers Meet, consisted entirely of traditional Irish material, bar one song that I wrote myself.

I still love Irish music, but in recent years I’ve been turning more and more to the Southern Appalachian songs and tunes that I grew up with. I can’t help feeling that this is part of a cathartic process that has to do with my mother’s death, the births of my son the year before she died and my daughter the year after, and the fact that I’m now living, with my husband and children, in what was once my mother’s house.

All the songs on this recording have powerful emotional resonances for me, and all are connected one way or another to my mother, so it’s appropriate that I dedicate this album to her. I miss her more than I could ever express in words, and it will always be a source of great sorrow and regret to me that she and her grandchildren never had the opportunity to get to know one another”.

